Governor Gianforte, 24 Governors Oppose Biden’s Latest Attack on Energy

Call to reverse course on halting liquified natural gas approvals

Governor's Office
  • April 23 2024

HELENA, Mont. – Today, Governor Greg Gianforte joined half of the nation’s governors in a call to President Joe Biden to lift his pause on new liquified natural gas (LNG) export approvals that is creating uncertainty in the energy market and harming allies of the United States.

“As governors, we are very concerned by the Biden Administration’s move to pause approvals of new liquified natural gas export projects, especially after Iran’s attack on Israel last week,” the governors stated. “The United States is the world’s leading exporter of LNG, and the decision to pause new approvals undermines our economic and national security, and the security of our allies.”

The governors continued, “It creates instability and threatens future energy security throughout the world at a time when our allies need us the most. It sends a message that the U.S. is not a reliable energy partner.”

Since President Biden took office, his administration has terminated the Keystone XL Pipeline, banned new oil and gas leasing on federal land, and suspended all oil and gas leases for portions of the non-wilderness Coastal Plain of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.

“We call on the Biden Administration to reverse course and lift the pause, allowing America to retain its global energy advantage ensuring Americans and our allies abroad have access to a steady supply of affordable energy,” the governors concluded.

Signatories to the statement include: Governor Kay Ivey (AL), Governor Mike Dunleavy (AK), Governor Sarah Sanders (AR), Governor Ron DeSantis (FL), Governor Brian Kemp (GA), Governor Brad Little (ID), Governor Eric Holcomb (IN), Governor Kim Reynolds (IA), Governor Jeff Landry (LA), Governor Tate Reeves (MS), Governor Mike Parson (MO), Governor Jim Pillen (NE), Governor Chris Sununu (NH), Governor Doug Burgum (ND), Governor Kevin Stitt (OK), Governor Mike DeWine (OH), Governor Henry McMaster (SC), Governor Kristi Noem (SD), Governor Bill Lee (TN), Governor Greg Abbott (TX), Governor Spencer Cox (UT), Governor Glenn Youngkin (VA), Governor Jim Justice (WV), and Governor Mark Gordon (WY).

Today’s statement is just one of Gov. Gianforte’s repeated calls to Biden to halt his war on affordable and reliable American energy:

January 2021: Governor Gianforte to President Biden: Cut Through the Malarkey and Reconsider Keystone XL Decision

February 2021: Gianforte, Governors Urge President To Reverse Ban On New Drilling On Federal Lands

March 2022: Gov. Gianforte Urges Pres. Biden to End Reliance on Foreign Energy, Make America Energy Independent and Secure

January 2024: Governor Gianforte to President Biden: Pull the Plug on Electric Vehicle Mandate

April 2024: Governor Gianforte Blasts Biden’s War on Energy