Water Working Group Meets April 15 - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


Water Working Group Meets April 15

Friday, April 10, 2020/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

The Geocodes Working Group meets at 10 a.m. April 15 to consider a framework for improving ownership updates within the state's water rights database.

The Water Policy Interim Committee created the working group in January. The working group previously met in March to discuss the database and consider the use of geocodes as an identifier of a water right's place of use. The Department of Natural Resources and Conservation administers the database, which includes information about more than 366,000 water rights. In past meetings, the committee heard testimony that the use of geocodes may be the source of inaccuracies, which complicate land sales, property improvements, probate proceedings, and water use.

The April 15 meeting will be via the video platform Zoom. Public comments will be allowed before and during the meeting. Information on joining the Zoom meeting will be provided on the committee website, www.leg.mt.gov/water.

At WPIC's March meeting, the committee adopted an initial framework of 15 suggestions for improvements. The working group is asking the public and stakeholders to respond to the framework and/or provide other written suggestions by mail or email to committee staff by April 13. The working group will forward recommendations to WPIC for consideration at its May 18-19 meeting. (The framework is posted on the WPIC website.)

The WPIC is led by Rep. Zach Brown, D-Bozeman, chairman, and Sen. Jeffrey Welborn, R-Dillon, vice-chairman. Other members of the committee are: Sen. Jill Cohenour (D-E. Helena), Sen. Bruce “Butch” Gillespie (R-Ethridge), Sen. Jon Sesso (D-Butte), Rep. Bob Brown (R-Thompson Falls), Rep. Carl Glimm (R-Kila), Rep. Bradley Maxon Hamlett (D-Cascade), Rep. Shane Morigeau (D-Missoula), and Rep. Walt Sales (R-Manhattan).

Members of the Geocodes Working Group include all committee members and Krista Lee Evans, Association of Gallatin Area Irrigator and Senior Water Rights Coalition; James Ferch, Department of Natural Resources and Conservation; Bill Gowen, Jr., Montana Land Title Association; Evan Hammer, Natural Resources Information Service; Kory Hofland, Department of Revenue; Hon. Russ McElyea, Montana Water Court; Regina Plettenberg, Montana Association of Clerks and Recorders; Shantil Siaperas, Montana Association of Counties; and Liane Taylor, Montana Association of Realtors.  

For more information on the committee's or working group's activities and meetings, including notice of the working group's April meeting, visit the committee’s website or contact Jason Mohr, committee staff.

Committee Website:  leg.mt.gov/water
Committee Staff:  jasonmohr@mt.gov or 406-444-1640
Committee mailing address: 
Water Policy Interim Committee
Capitol Building, room 171D
P.O. Box 201704
Helena, MT  59620-1704


Number of views (725)/Comments (0)