Water Committee Seeks Public Comment on Future of the Water Court - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


Water Committee Seeks Public Comment on Future of the Water Court

Friday, August 5, 2016/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Water Policy Interim Committee

The Water Policy Interim Committee (WPIC) welcomes public comment on a report and draft legislation related to its study of the future of the Montana Water Court.

The WPIC approved a draft of the report July 12 in order to seek public comment. Comments will be reviewed and discussed at the Aug. 29-30 meeting of the WPIC before any final decisions are made.

The committee investigated and studied many of the legal processes involving water rights. The committee’s work took them beyond just the Water Court and into the workings of the Department of Natural Resources and Conservation, district courts, and other entities. The report – titled “Considerations for the future of water rights” – summarizes its work on the subject since the interim began on June 2015. The report includes a history of water rights administration in Montana, current legal processes, and a discussion of certain future issues.

The report is available for review on the WPIC’s website, http://www.leg.mt.gov/water. Comments may be sent to the WPIC at P.O. Box 201704, Helena, MT 59620-1704 or emailed to jasonmohr@mt.gov with the subject line, “Future of the Water Court comments.”

All comments received by 5 p.m. on August 15 will be compiled and reviewed by the WPIC prior to its August meeting in Helena. Comments received after the deadline will be provided to the WPIC at the meeting. Comments are welcome in person at the meeting as well. An agenda and all other meeting materials for the August WPIC meeting will be made available on the WPIC’s web site approximately two weeks in prior to the meeting.

Members of the WPIC include: Chairman Bradley Maxon Hamlett, D-Cascade; Vice-chairman Carl Glimm, R-Kila; Rep. Bob Brown, R-Thompson Falls; Rep. Zach Brown, D-Bozeman; Sen. Jennifer Fielder, R-Thompson Falls; Sen. Chas Vincent, R-Libby; Sen. Sharon Stewart-Peregoy, D-Crow Agency; Rep. Kathleen Williams, D-Bozeman.

For more information, contact Jason Mohr, WPIC staff, at 406-444-1640 or jasonmohr@mt.gov.


Number of views (3777)/Comments (0)