TIC meets September 11 to complete 2019-2020 interim work - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


TIC meets September 11 to complete 2019-2020 interim work

Monday, August 31, 2020/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

The Transportation Interim Committee (TIC) meets September 11 to complete its 2019-2020 interim work on traffic safety systems and policy and bicycle and pedestrian pathways.

This is a public meeting. If you wish to view only, the meeting will be streamed live on www.leg.mt.gov and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN). If you want to participate, please email snowakowski@mt.gov with your name and a request, and you will be sent Zoom information to participate. Times will be provided for oral public comment on the agenda. Requests for conference call participation must be received by 5 p.m. on September 10, 2020. Written public comment is also encouraged. If you want to provide written testimony, please email testimony to snowakowski@mt.gov. Due to COVID‐19 public health concerns, the public is discouraged from physically attending meetings in the State Capitol Building.

During the September 11 meeting, the Montana Department of Transportation and the Department of Justice Motor Vehicle Division will provide the committee with its proposed 2021 legislation. MDT will also present required reports related to biodiesel usage and refunds and alternative project contracting.

The committee will review a draft final report for HJ 45, the bicycle and pedestrian pathways study. The committee also will finish its work related to the federal REAL ID Act, including deciding whether to proceed with draft legislation requested by the committee in January.

The TIC elected Gordon Vance, R-Belgrade, Presiding Officer; and Diane Sands, D-Missoula; Vice-Presiding Officer. Senate members appointed to the committee are Carlie Boland, D-Great Falls; Sands; Vance; and Jeff Welborn, R-Dillon. House members appointed to the committee are Ross Fitzgerald, R-Fairfield; Denley Loge, R-Saint Regis; Andrea Olsen, D-Missoula, and Mark Sweeney, D-Philipsburg.

For more information about the meeting, including an agenda, visit the committee's website or contact Sonja Nowakowski, committee staff.

Committee Website:  https://www.leg.mt.gov/committees/interim/2019tric/
Committee Staff: Sonja Nowakowski, snowakowski@mt.gov or 406-444-3078


Number of views (571)/Comments (0)