State-Tribal Relations Committee Wraps Up Interim on August 31 -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


State-Tribal Relations Committee Wraps Up Interim on August 31

Tuesday, August 16, 2016/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: State-Tribal Relations Committee

For Immediate Release
August 16, 2016
Contact: Hope Stockwell, Research Analyst, 406-444-9280

Helena - The Montana Legislature's State-Tribal Relations Committee wraps up its 2015-2016 interim on August 31. The committee meets from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. in Room 152 of the Capitol in Helena.

The committee will continue to discuss funding for and the economic impacts of Montana's tribal colleges. Representatives from all seven tribal colleges will participate.

Options for providing supplemental state funding to BIE tribal grant schools in Busby and Pablo will be discussed. School representatives first approached the committee with the idea in October 2015. At this meeting, the committee will review methods used by Minnesota, Wyoming, and Washington State to help fund their BIE schools.

Updates on American Indian student achievement, a new language immersion program at Crow Agency, youth suicide prevention, and activities of the Governor’s Office of Indian Affairs will also be provided.

Lastly, the committee will decide whether to move forward with five potential changes to statute. One proposal would clean up redundant language in the tribal college reimbursement statute, while four others would build upon the state's Indian language immersion program funding.

Links to the proposals, a draft agenda, and other meeting materials are available on the committee's website at

If you have comments or questions, please contact committee staffer Hope Stockwell at 444-9280 or

Senate members of the STRC are Jill Cohenour, D-East Helena; Jennifer Fielder, R-Thompson Falls; Kristin Hansen, R-Havre; and Jonathan Windy Boy, D-Box Elder (Chair).

House members are Alan Doane, R-Bloomfield (Vice-Chair); Edward Greef, R-Florence; George Kipp, III, D-Heart Butte; and Zac Perry, D-Hungry Horse.


Number of views (3262)/Comments (0)