FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
February 10, 2016
Mary Ann Dunwell, Public Information Officer, MT Dept. of Revenue
(406) 444-6700, MDunwell@mt.gov
Molly Petersen, Public Information Specialist, MT Dept. of Revenue
(406) 444-4331, MollyPetersen@mt.gov
MT Department of Revenue reminds tax exempt property owners to reapply for exemption
Helena – The Montana Department of Revenue reminds nonprofit organizations and other tax exempt property owners that March 1, 2016, is the deadline to reapply for property tax exemption. A new state law requires all owners of tax exempt real property “in exempt status before 2014” to submit an application.
So far, the department has received applications for about 1,000 tax exempt properties out of an estimated 6,000 to 7,000 in Montana that may be affected. The reapplication requirement includes property owned by most nonprofit organizations, private schools and colleges, churches, parsonages, low income housing, veterans’ clubhouses, community service and fraternal organizations, cemeteries, and land leased from a railroad by a nonprofit organization.
In November, the department mailed letters and applications to organizations with tax exempt properties in the state system. You can also download and print the application, form AB-30R, from our website at http://revenue.mt.gov.
By March 1, 2016, tax exempt property owners need to submit the exemption application, all required documentation, and a small application fee. The fee is $15 for a vacant land parcel, $25 for a land parcel with structures. There is no application fee for nonprofits with total gross receipts less than $5,000.
You will need an application and fee for each parcel your organization owns, but only one set of supporting documentation. Organizations need to submit their IRS Form 990 or other documents that confirm total gross receipts. The application lists additional documentation to submit for your specific exemption. You’ll also need a legal description of your property. For help finding your legal description, visit my property under property assessment at revenue.mt.gov.
Applicants should mail the application materials by March 1, 2016, to Montana Department of Revenue, PO Box 8018, Helena, MT 59624-8018. For more information, visit revenue.mt.gov or call toll free (866) 859-2254, in Helena 444-6900.
Mary Ann Dunwell
Public Information Officer
Montana Department of Revenue
(406) 444-6700, (406) 461-2648 cell
125 N. Roberts, PO Box 5805, Helena, MT 59604-5805