Legislative Audit Committee Meets April 19-20 - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


Legislative Audit Committee Meets April 19-20

Thursday, April 12, 2018/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Legislative Audit Committee , Lottery , Fish Wildlife & Parks , state parks , Department of Commerce , Single Audit , Community Colleges

The Legislative Audit Committee (LAC) will meet Thursday, April 19 and Friday, April 20, 2018, in room 137 of the state Capitol. The Legislative Audit Committee ensures accountability for the disposition and use of public funds, and the efficient and effective management of state government programs. The committee meets regularly to review independent audit reports, interact with audited agencies, and advise and consult with the Legislative Auditor and the staff of the Legislative Audit Division.

Financial and compliance reports scheduled for review in April include: the Montana State Lottery; Montana Water Pollution Control and Drinking Water State Revolving Fund Programs; Montana Department of Transportation; Department of Fish, Wildlife & Parks; Department of Commerce; Montana State University; and, the University of Montana. The LAC will additionally be reviewing a federal single audit of the State of Montana.

Also scheduled for review is a performance audit of the management of Montana’s state parks system. There will also be focus on two follow-up audits on the Regulation of Independent Contractors and the Data Integrity of the Status, Tax, Accounting, Audit, and Rating System (STAARS).

Further up for analysis are three community college contract audits: Flathead Valley Community College, Miles Community College, and Dawson Community College.

Senate members of the LAC are Dee Brown (Secretary), R-Hungry Horse; Terry Gauthier, R-Helena; Bob Keenan, R-Bigfork; Margaret MacDonald, D-Billings; Mary McNally (Chair), D-Billings; and Gene Vuckovich, D-Anaconda. House members are Kim Abbott, D-Helena; Dan Bartel, R-Lewistown; Randy Brodehl, R-Kalispell; Tom Burnett, R-Bozeman; Virginia Court; D-Billings; and Denise Hayman, D-Bozeman. 

The LAC meeting is set to convene at 1:00 p.m. on the 19th and 9:00 a.m. on the 20th. An agenda and other committee information is available on the LAC's website.

The meeting streams live at http://leg.mt.gov and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT.) Check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area.


Number of views (1215)/Comments (0)