Law and Justice Interim Committee Meets June 28 -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


Law and Justice Interim Committee Meets June 28

Monday, June 19, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Law & Justice Interim Committee , 2017 Legislature , TVMT , meth , opioids , Department of Corrections , Department of Justice , Office of State Public Defender , Board of Crime Control , Board of Pardons and Parole , POST , solitary confinement

CONTACT: Rachel Weiss, committee staff, (406) 444-5367 or

The Law and Justice Interim Committee meets June 28 in room 137 of the state Capitol. The meeting starts at 10 a.m. It is the first meeting of the committee for the 2017-2018 interim.

As part of this organizational meeting, the committee will elect officers, hear introductions from staff of several agencies under the committee’s jurisdiction, and discuss and revise study and work plans for the interim. The Legislative Council assigned two studies to the LJIC. House Joint Resolution 6 requests a study of methamphetamine use and illegal opioid abuse in the state. Senate Joint Resolution 25 requests a study of the extent of the use of solitary confinement in Montana.

The LJIC also has several duties assigned to it by law, including administrative rule review, draft legislation review, program evaluation, and monitoring functions of the agencies under its oversight and any entities attached to those agencies. The LJIC is also assigned to liaise with the Judicial Branch. Agencies and entities for which the LJIC provides oversight include:

  • The Department of Corrections
  • The Department of Justice
  • The Office of the State Public Defender
  • The Board of Crime Control
  • The Board of Pardons and Parole
  • The Public Safety Officers Standards and Training Council (POST)

Senate members appointed to the committee are Jen Gross, D-Billings; Margaret “Margie” MacDonald, D-Billings; Keith Regier, R-Kalispell; Scott Sales, R-Bozeman; Diane Sands, D-Missoula; and Nels Swandal, R-Wilsall. House members appointed to the committee are Jessica Karjala, D-Billings; George Kipp III, D-Heart Butte; Ryan Lynch, D-Butte; Jimmy Patelis, R-Billings; Lola Sheldon-Galloway, R-Great Falls; and Barry Usher, R-Billings.

The meeting will stream live at and will broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT). Check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area.

For more information about the meeting, including a full agenda and meeting materials, visit the committee’s website or contact Rachel Weiss, committee staff, at (406) 444-5367 or


Number of views (2772)/Comments (0)