Governor Bullock Announces Funding for Jail Diversion and Crisis Intervention -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


Governor Bullock Announces Funding for Jail Diversion and Crisis Intervention

Governor Bullock Announces Funding for Jail Diversion and Crisis Intervention

A total of $1.8 million distributed to 16 Montana counties to help those in mental health crisis

Wednesday, September 16, 2015/Categories: Department of Health and Human Services, Former Governors/Tags: mental health

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: September 16, 2015


Mike Wessler, Deputy Communications Director, Governor’s Office, (406) 444-9725

Jon Ebelt, Public Information Officer, DPHHS, (406) 444-0936

Helena, Mont--Governor Steve Bullock announced today 16 Montana counties have received a total of $1.8 million in state funds designed to create or improve existing jail diversion and crisis intervention strategies at the local level for people in a mental health crisis.

“Too many Montanans are suffering with mental illness without access to the help they need,” Bullock said. “I’m pleased to support these innovative community solutions and investments that will treat people before they end up in our jails and prisons.”

The increased funding, approved by the 2015 Legislature, is part of the current county matching grant program that began in 2009 to fund jail diversion and crisis intervention in the community. These funds will be used to support development of new crisis stabilization facilities, offer crisis intervention training and hire additional county mental health staff. A local investment (county match) is a requirement for these funds and the match rate is determined based upon admission rates at MSH for FY 2014.

Currently, in order to provide appropriate care, many Montana communities have no other option but to transport those in mental health crisis long distances to MSH. MSH is the state’s only public acute psychiatric hospital and serves both civil and forensic patients.

The funding will be used to pay for new projects, or enhance current ones. 

A complete county listing and funds awarded is below:

  • Beaverhead County ($9,516)
  • Broadwater County ($12,355) (All counties impacted include Broadwater and Meagher.)
  • Custer County ($330,200) (All counties impacted include Dawson, Richland, Rosebud and Valley.)
  • Gallatin ($147,032)
  • Hill County ($70,350)
  • Lake County ($202,000)
  • Lewis and Clark County ($155,400)
  • Lincoln County ($40,000)
  • Missoula County ($253,221)
  • Park County ($15,000)
  • Powell County ($5,000)
  • Ravalli County ($65,869)
  • Richland County ($114,599)
  • Silver Bow County ($20,500)
  • Valley County ($36,000)
  • Yellowstone County ($353,593) (All counties impacted include Yellowstone, Big Horn, Carbon, Fergus, Golden, Valley, Judith Basin, Musselshell, Petroleum, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, and Wheatland.)

As part of his Executive Budget for the current biennium, Bullock proposed and secured from the 2015 legislature historic investments in the mental services to ensure the treatment and safety of individuals.  Additional awards and programs will be announced in the coming weeks.



Number of views (23406)/Comments (0)