Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee Meets May 17-18 -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee Meets May 17-18

Monday, May 7, 2018/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Energy & Telecommunications Interim Committee , colstrip , Renewable Resources , natural gas , NorthWestern Energy , Public Service Commission , Bonneville Power , Puget Sound Energy , Portland General Electric

The fifth meeting of the 2017-2018 Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee (ETIC) is May 17-18.

The meeting begins at 9 a.m., Thursday, and 8 a.m., Friday, in Room 172 of the state Capitol.

ETIC members will discuss several bill drafts relating to qualifying facilities, natural gas customer choice, integrated resource planning and resource planning, and small water and sewer utility regulation. The committee will examine the future of Colstrip transmission lines and Montana energy exports with representatives of the Bonneville Power Administration, Puget Sound Energy, Portland General Electric, and renewable energy developers.

NorthWestern Energy (NWE) and the Montana Public Service Commission (PSC) will provide a review of NWE’s Net Metering Cost-Benefit study, including the company’s analysis and the upcoming steps in the PSC process.

The committee will also conduct a work session to discuss possible decoupling bill drafts.

Additional committee topics include a review of the Understanding Energy in Montana guidebook, renewable energy credits, transmission line investments, and an update from the PSC.

For more information, visit the following links:

            May 17-18 Meeting Materials (includes agenda and background reports)

            Information on how to sign up for interim meeting notices

The meeting will be live streamed at and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT). Check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area. For more information about the meeting, including a full agenda, visit the committee's website or contact Trevor Graff or Sonja Nowakowski, committee staff.

Committee Website:

Committee Staff: or 406-444-4975 or or 406-444-3078.


Number of views (1384)/Comments (0)