Governor Gianforte Makes Appointments to Community Choice School Commission

Governor's Office
  • August 29 2023

HELENA, Mont. – Governor Greg Gianforte today announced two appointees to the Community School Choice Commission. Cathy Kincheloe of Whitefish and Trish Schreiber of Helmville will serve four-year terms on the commission.

Appointed by the governor, Kincheloe brings over 20 years of experience with public charter school organizations to the commission, first as a teacher, and then in leadership roles.

The governor’s second appointee, Trish Schreiber, who he also appointed chair of the commission, has served as an educational therapist for over two decades for students who experience learning challenges. Schreiber also serves as senior education fellow at the Frontier Institute.

Established when the governor signed House Bill 562 into law this spring, the Community Choice School Commission is responsible for overseeing the public community choice schools in Montana.

In addition to the governor’s appointees, the commission is comprised of one member appointed by each the superintendent of public instruction, the president of the Montana Senate, the speaker of the Montana House of Representatives, the minority leader of the Montana Senate, and the minority leader of the Montana House of Representatives.