Governor Bullock Announces Secretarial Natural Disaster Designation Approved

Disaster designation in 17 Montana counties will provide assistance to farmers who suffered losses during 2019 crop year

Former Governors
  • January 31 2020

Governor Steve Bullock today announced that the United States Department of Agriculture granted a secretarial natural disaster designation to 17 counties who requested federal assistance after suffering losses caused by multiple disasters during the 2019 crop year.

“Montana farmers faced extraordinary circumstances this season with snowstorms, freezing temperatures, and excessive rain that left them with unharvested crops and in a dire financial situation,” said Governor Bullock. “I am thankful the USDA granted this secretarial natural disaster designation so farmers can access the critical resources they need to have a successful 2020 season.”

Governor Bullock sent two letters to Secretary Sonny Perdue requesting a secretarial disaster designation for several Montana counties who suffered multiple disasters including excessive moisture and snow, freezing, frost, hail and high winds. The designation will make producers eligible for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency, including emergency loans.

The 17 primary counties designated as natural disaster areas include: McCone, Richland, Roosevelt, Wibaux, Daniels, Rosebud, Sheridan, Treasure, Valley, Dawson, Prairie, Toole, Glacier, Teton, Pondera, Cascade, and Choteau.

The full letter from USDA Secretary Perdue is attached. Impacted producers are encouraged to connect with their local FSA office.