Water Policy Interim Committee Meets June 10 - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Water Policy Interim Committee Meets June 10

Thursday, June 6, 2019/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

The Water Policy Interim Committee holds its first meeting of the new interim at 9 a.m. on June 10 in room 152 of the state Capitol. This meeting’s focus is to set a workplan for the committee’s six future meetings over the next 16 months.

The 2019-20 WPIC includes 10 members, including:

  • Sen. Jill Cohenour (D-E. Helena)
  • Sen. Bruce “Butch” Gillespie (R-Ethridge)
  • Sen. Jon Sesso (D-Butte)
  • Sen. Jeffrey Welborn (R-Dillon)
  • Rep. Bob Brown (R-Thompson Falls)
  • Rep. Zach Brown (D-Bozeman)
  • Rep. Carl Glimm (R-Kila)
  • Rep. Bradley Maxon Hamlett (D-Cascade)
  • Rep. Shane Morigeau (D-Missoula)
  • Rep. Walt Sales (R-Manhattan)

State law allows the WPIC to provide oversight "for issues where the primary concern is the quality or quantity of water" in the departments of Environmental Quality, Natural Resources and Conservation, and Fish, Wildlife, and Parks.

The main duties of the WPIC are to conduct interim studies, monitor agencies, review administrative rules, review councils and reports, determine other water policies to examine (member topics), and to propose and review legislation. It is up to the committee to decide how to execute these functions.

The Legislative Council assigned two studies to the WPIC: HJ14 (Study of the future of the Water Court) and HJ40 (Study of weather modification).

At the June 10 meeting, the committee will also hear updates on the state's drought conditions, water supply, wildfire outlook, and aquatic invasive species efforts.

The meeting will be live-streamed at https://leg.mt.gov/ and will be broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN). For more information on the committee’s activities and upcoming meeting, including a full agenda, visit the committee’s website or contact Jason Mohr, committee staff.

Committee Website:  leg.mt.gov/water

Committee Staff:  jasonmohr@mt.gov or 406-444-1640



Number of views (957)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.