Transportation Interim Committee Meets June 22 -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Transportation Interim Committee Meets June 22

Wednesday, June 10, 2020/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

The Transportation Interim Committee (TIC) meets June 22 at 9 a.m. to continue its work on traffic safety systems and policy and bicycle and pedestrian pathways.

This is a public meeting. If you wish to view only, the meeting will be streamed live on and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN). If you want to participate, email with your name and a request, and you will be sent Zoom information to participate. Times will be provided on the agenda for oral public comment. Requests for conference call participation must be received by 5 p.m. on June 19, 2020. Written public comment is also encouraged. If you want to provide written testimony, email testimony to Due to COVID‐19 public health concerns, the public is discouraged from physically attending meetings in the state Capitol building.

During the June 22 meeting, the Montana Department of Transportation and the DOJ Motor Vehicle Division will update the committee on impacts to the agencies due to COVID-19. For HJ 45, the bicycle and pedestrian pathways study, the committee will review funding mechanisms used for shared-use paths in other states. The committee will then be asked to provide staff with next steps to begin wrapping up its work on the subject.

The committee also will follow up on issues related to the federal REAL ID Act, including a review of draft legislation requested by the committee in January and a discussion of the new federal extension.

The TIC elected Gordon Vance, R-Belgrade, Presiding Officer, and Diane Sands, D-Missoula,  Vice-Presiding Officer. Senate members appointed to the committee are Carlie Boland, D-Great Falls; Sands; Vance; and Jeff Welborn, R-Dillon. House members appointed to the committee are Ross Fitzgerald, R-Fairfield; Denley Loge, R-Saint Regis; Andrea Olsen, D-Missoula, and Mark Sweeney, D-Philipsburg.

For more information about the meeting, including an agenda, visit the committee's website or contact Sonja Nowakowski, committee staff.

Committee Website:

Committee Staff: Sonja Nowakowski, or 406-444-3078


Number of views (569)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.