Senators to Discuss Interim Committee Vacancies Sept. 2 -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Senators to Discuss Interim Committee Vacancies Sept. 2

Monday, August 29, 2016/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Senate Committee on Committees

Montana senators will meet Sept. 2 to discuss filling interim committee vacancies left by the resignation of a senator recently appointed as a Yellowstone County commissioner.

The meeting starts at 9 a.m. in room 172 of the Capitol. Members may participate by phone.

Sen. Robyn Driscoll, D-Billings, resigned in August after she was selected as a commissioner for Yellowstone County. Driscoll sat on the Energy and Telecommunications Interim Committee and the Legislative Council.

Appointment of senators to interim committees is done by the Committee on Committees, composed of senators from the majority party. The committee is chaired by Sen. John Brenden of Scobey and includes Sens. Dee Brown, Hungry Horse; Kris Hansen, Havre; Rick Ripley, Wolf Creek; Janna Taylor, Dayton; and Chas Vincent, Libby.

Driscoll also sat on a subcommittee of Energy and Telecommunications that is no longer meeting and the Legislative Consumer Committee, for which vacancies are filled by remaining members.

For more information contact Joe Kolman, committee staff, at 444-3747 or


Number of views (3035)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.