FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
July 6, 2015
Mary Ann Dunwell, Public Information Officer, MT Dept. of Revenue
(406) 444-6700, firstname.lastname@example.org
Molly Petersen, Public Information Specialist, MT Dept. of Revenue
(406) 444-4331, email@example.com
Property owners to receive classification and appraisal notices from MT Department of Revenue
Helena – The Montana Department of Revenue is mailing out Classification and Appraisal notices to all owners of residential, commercial, industrial, agriculture and forest land properties. The department’s determination of a property’s market and taxable values is shown on the notice.
“We ask you to review the information thoroughly,” said Mike Kadas, Director of the Montana Department of Revenue. “Although this is not a tax bill, it is important information that your county treasurer’s office will use when calculating your property tax bill.”
New this year, property owners can access additional details about their property characteristics and values online by visiting revenue.mt.gov/property-assessment.
If property owners disagree with the department’s determination, they can submit a Form AB-26, Request for Informal Classification and Appraisal Review, to the department. The Form AB-26 must be submitted within 30 days from the date on the Classification and Appraisal notice. To obtain a Form AB-26, property owners can contact their local department office located in each county or go online to revenue.mt.gov/appeal-process.
Instead of submitting a Form AB-26 for an informal review, property owners may choose to make a formal appeal directly to the county tax appeal board, also within 30 days of the notice date. However, the department does encourage taxpayers to file a Form AB-26 as most property taxpayer concerns are resolved informally with the department through the AB-26 process.
Montana law requires the department to send a Classification and Appraisal notice to property owners at the beginning of each appraisal cycle and whenever a change in ownership, classification or value has occurred. Under new state law, residential, commercial, agricultural and industrial properties are now classified and appraised every two years. The reappraisal cycle for forest land remains at six years.
The public can find contact information for local Department of Revenue offices by visiting revenue.mt.gov/contact-us or by calling toll free (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900).
Mary Ann Dunwell
Public Information Officer
Montana Department of Revenue
(406) 444-6700, (406) 461-2648 cell
125 N. Roberts, PO Box 5805, Helena, MT 59604-5805