MT Dept. of Revenue Announces Online Reporting of Business Equipment -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


MT Dept. of Revenue Announces Online Reporting of Business Equipment

Wednesday, January 3, 2018/Categories: Department of Revenue/Tags: Business , Personal Property Reporting


January 3, 2018   


Mary Ann Dunwell, Public Information Officer, MT Dept. of Revenue

(406) 444-6700,

MT Dept. of Revenue Announces Online Reporting of Business Equipment

Helena –The Montana Department of Revenue recently notified business equipment owners to submit their annual report in 2018 online with the department’s TransAction Portal (TAP). The department will no longer mail paper reporting forms.

“Electronic reporting is free, easy to use and saves time for businesses that are trying to work efficiently. It also makes processing the reports more accurate and cost effective,” said Shauna Helfert, Property Assessment Division Administrator with the Department of Revenue.

The department mailed letters in mid-December to business equipment owners who have reported in prior years and are believed to have a reporting requirement. The letter contains instructions on how to log in to their TAP account or set up an account at

Businesses that did not receive a letter still have a statutory reporting requirement if their statewide aggregate market value of equipment is over $100,000. Those businesses whose statewide aggregate market value of equipment is $100,000 or less are exempt from taxation and do not have a reporting requirement.

Business equipment reporting includes items such as furniture and fixtures, heavy equipment, manufacturing and mining equipment, farm and ranch equipment, oil and gas equipment, and miscellaneous equipment that businesses owned as of January 1, 2018. Owners need to submit a report even if there were no changes to their business equipment or if they closed or sold their business.

All business equipment reported for 2017 is prepopulated to the 2018 online reporting system.

Online reporting creates an electronic repository that lets businesses access submissions from previous years. Businesses can also use the sort and filter functions to quickly locate assets that need to be updated or deleted. Finally, online reporting provides businesses with immediate confirmation that the department received their report.

The reporting deadline is March 1, 2018, to avoid a 20 percent penalty.

For more information, visit, or contact us at (406) 444-6900 or



Number of views (1746)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.