Montana Poet Laureate Nominations Open -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Montana Poet Laureate Nominations Open

Montana Poet Laureate Nominations Open

Wednesday, March 20, 2019/Categories: Montana Arts Council/Tags:

The nomination form for the Montana Poet Laureate is available.

The deadline for submitting nominations is April 10, 2019.

The nomination process is very simple and includes the name and home town of the nominee, a link or upload of the poem the nominee loves the most and a brief narrative of why that poem is a favorite, and why the poet is deserving of the honor.

The Montana Poet Laureate recognizes and honors a citizen poet of exceptional talent and accomplishment. The Poet Laureate also encourages appreciation of poetry and literary life in Montana. This position was created by the state legislature in 2005.

Nominations for Montana's Poet Laureate will be considered for poets who currently reside in Montana and have been a resident for at least one year. Montana Arts Council members, staff, or their immediate family or household are not eligible.

Nominated poets will be contacted by the Montana Arts Council, will have the opportunity to accept the nomination, and will need to submit additional materials. A panel drawn from members of the literary community select finalists from among the nominations. The finalists are submitted to the Montana Arts Council for review and approval. The Poet Laureate of Montana is then chosen by the Governor.

The position of Poet Laureate is an honorific one. Advancing and supporting the poetic arts involves reaching out to and beyond the art and literary communities in Montana to promote the appreciation of poetry as an ancient and ongoing form of expression.
Humanities Montana will invite the Poet Laureate to join its Speaker's Bureau program.  The term of service for Poet Laureate is two years. A poet who has previously served as Poet Laureate may not be re-nominated.

Poet Laureate nominations are measured against three criteria:

  1. Artistic excellence and achievement
  2. Ongoing contributions to the cultural community
  3. Worthiness of statewide recognition

Past Poet Laureates

Lowell Jaeger, 2017-present
Michael Earl Craig, 2015-2017
Tami Haaland, 2013-2015
Sheryl Noethe, 2011-2013
Henry Real Bird, 2009-2011
Greg Pape, 2007-2009
Sandra Alcosser, 2005-2007

For more information, please contact:

Czelsi Kozak at or (406) 444-4700.


Number of views (828)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.