Legislative Audit Committee Meets October 5 - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Legislative Audit Committee Meets October 5

Tuesday, October 2, 2018/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

Legislative Audit Committee to review Water Pollutant Discharge Permitting and Inspecting Processes at the Department of Environmental Quality. The committee will also hear a report addressing information security at the Montana State Lottery and will review information on the state’s Hotline for reporting allegations of fraud, waste and abuse.

The Legislative Audit Committee (LAC) meets Friday October 5, 2018, in room 172 of the state Capitol in Helena. The Legislative Audit Committee ensures accountability for the disposition and use of public funds, and the efficient and effective management of state government programs. The committee meets regularly to review Independent Audit Reports, interact with audited agencies, and advise and consult with the Legislative Auditor and the staff of the Legislative Audit Division.

Scheduled for review is the State of Montana Employee Group Benefits Claim audit that was prepared under contract between the Legislative Branch and Claim Technologies Incorporated.

There is one performance audit scheduled for a hearing, which addresses Water Pollutant Discharge Permitting and Inspecting Processes by the Water Protection Bureau. Also scheduled for review is an information systems audit of the Montana State Lottery Security operations.

The Legislative Audit Division is presenting a newly-revised format for hotline activity reporting to the committee titled Accountability, Compliance and Transparency – Reporting and Resolving Allegations of Fraud, Waste, and Abuse in Montana State Government.

There will also be focus on two performance follow-up audits on the Oversight of Crossroads Correctional Center and the Oversight of Discretionary Pay Changes for State Employees.

Senate members of the LAC are Dee Brown, R-Hungry Horse; Terry Gauthier, R-Helena; Bob Keenan, R-Bigfork; Margaret MacDonald, D-Billings; Mary McNally (Chair), D-Billings; and Gene Vuckovich, D-Anaconda. House members are Kim Abbott, D-Helena; Dan Bartel, R-Lewistown; Randy Brodehl, R-Kalispell; Tom Burnett, R-Bozeman; Virginia Court (Secretary), D-Billings; and Denise Hayman, D-Bozeman.

The LAC meeting convenes at 9 a.m. on Friday, October 5. An agenda and other committee information can be found on the LAC's website.

The meeting streams live at http://leg.mt.gov and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT.) Check your local channels listings to find TVMT in your area.


Number of views (1156)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.