Legislative Audit Committee Meets June 25-26 - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Legislative Audit Committee Meets June 25-26

Thursday, June 13, 2019/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

The Legislative Audit Committee (LAC) meets Tuesday, June 25 and Wednesday, June 26, 2019, in room 172 of the state Capitol. The Legislative Audit Committee ensures accountability for the disposition and use of public funds, and the efficient and effective management of state government programs. The committee meets regularly to review Independent Audit Reports, interact with audited agencies, and advise and consult with the Legislative Auditor and the staff of the Legislative Audit Division.

Financial and financial-compliance reports scheduled for review in June include: University of Montana, Montana State University, Montana State Lottery, Montana Board of Housing, Office of the Commissioner of Higher Education, Judicial Branch, Office of the Secretary of State, State Auditor’s Office, Office of the Commissioner of Political Practices, Department of Corrections, Department of Justice, Montana Historical Society, Department of Public Service Regulation, and the Montana Board of Housing.

Scheduled for review are three community college contract audits; Dawson Community College, Miles Community College, and Flathead Valley Community College.

There will also be focus on two information systems audits titled The Montana Prescription Drug Registry and Unmanned Aircraft Systems Deployment and Oversight. Additionally, there will be two performance audits scheduled for a hearing which addresses The Montana University System Coordination of Student Enrollment and Administrative Services and Oversight of State Agency Procurement Card Use.

Senate members of the LAC are Dee Brown, R-Hungry Horse; Jason Ellsworth, R-Hamilton; John Esp, R-Big Timber; Pat Flowers, D-Belgrade; Mary McNally (Chair), D-Billings; and Tom Jacobson, D-Great Falls. House members are Kim Abbott, D-Helena; Dan Bartel, R-Lewistown; Matt Regier, R-Columbia Falls; Tom Burnett, R-Bozeman; Emma Kerr-Carpenter, D-Billings; and Denise Hayman, D-Bozeman.

The LAC meeting convenes at 10:30 a.m. on Tuesday, June 25 and 8:30 a.m. on Wednesday, June 26. An agenda and other committee information can be found on the LAC's website.

The meeting will be live streamed at http://leg.mt.gov and will be broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN). Check your local channel listings to find MPAN in your area.



Number of views (913)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.