Education Interim Committee Meets in Helena January 22-23 -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Education Interim Committee Meets in Helena January 22-23

Thursday, January 11, 2018/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Montana university system , Education Interim Committee , TVMT , Montana Office of Public Instruction , Education Budget , Alternative Education

The Education Interim Committee will meet Monday-Tuesday, January 22-23, 2018, in Helena at the state Capitol, Room 137. An agenda is on the committee website. The committee’s November meeting scheduled to take place in Bozeman in conjunction with a meeting of the Board of Regents of Higher Education was canceled due to the special session.

On Monday, January 22, the committee will receive K-12 updates from the Office of Public Instruction, as well as on the new Stars Preschool Grant Program from the Governor’s Office. The committee will also welcome school administrators from St. Regis, Conrad, Great Falls, and Bozeman to share their efforts related to student-centered learning.

After lunch, the committee will dive into the House Joint Resolution No. 1 study of education funding for students with special needs, focusing on gifted and talented students, English learners, and at-risk students. The afternoon will wrap up with updates on various efforts to address educator recruitment and retention. Representatives from Montana’s educator preparation programs and other education professionals will participate in these conversations.

On Tuesday, January 23, committee members will attend the 2018 Economic Outlook Seminar on "The Future of Higher Education" presented by the University of Montana's Bureau of Business and Economic Research from 8 AM to 1 PM at the Best Western Great Northern Hotel in Helena. Registration is required for the seminar.

The committee will reconvene following the seminar at 2 PM in Room 137 of the state Capitol to continue its collaborative discussions regarding the Montana University System, with plans to discuss dual enrollment, student financial aid programs, and other issues with higher education officials. The committee will conclude with a work session examining its work plan for the remainder of the interim.

Senate members appointed to the committee are Tom Facey, D-Missoula; Edie McClafferty, D-Butte; Dan Salomon, R-Ronan; and Russ Tempel, R-Chester. House members are Fred Anderson, R-Great Falls; Jacob Bachmeier, D-Havre; Moffie Funk, D-Helena; and Don Jones, R-Billings. The committee is chaired by Sen. McClafferty with Rep. Anderson serving as vice chair.

The meeting will be live streamed at and will be broadcast on Television Montana (TVMT). Check your local channel listings to find TVMT in your area. For more information about the meeting, visit the committee’s website or contact Pad McCracken, committee staff.

Committee Website:

Committee Staff: or (406) 444-3595


Number of views (1882)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.