Economic Affairs Interim Committee meets November 7 -

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Economic Affairs Interim Committee meets November 7

Tuesday, October 29, 2019/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

Helena -- Gnashing of (implanted) teeth and rules that could drive someone to drink are completely separate topics in some worlds, but legislators at the Nov. 7 meeting of the Economic Affairs Interim Committee will have the opportunity to hear concerns both about proposed dentures/teeth implant rules and penalties related to violating alcohol laws.

It's all par for the course when the Economic Affairs Interim Committee of the legislature meets and hears from business-oriented souls, like bar owners, and licensees like dentists and denturists. The meeting starts at 8:30 a.m. in Room 137 of the State Capitol.

Committee members have objected to both a proposed Board of Dentistry rule and a rule proposed by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division. The objections pause adoption of the rules but do not necessarily prevent adoption.

A less dramatic part of the agenda will provide committee members with updates from three agencies: the Governor's Office of Economic Development, the Division of Banking and Financial Institutions, and the Department of Labor and Industry. The latter part of the meeting will include discussions on how much detail to explore in studies related to occupational licensing of those with criminal convictions, tourism and film promotion activities related to the lodging facility use tax, broadband, and alcohol-related topics.

An agenda and meeting materials are posted on the committee website. Public comment will be taken throughout the meeting on specified topics or at the end of the day on any general item related to the committee's portfolio of work. For more information see the committee website or contact committee staff.

Members of the committee are: Representatives Derek Harvey (D-Butte), Joshua Kassmier (R-Fort Benton), Mark Noland (R-Bigfork), Vince Ricci (R-Laurel), Sharon Stewart Peregoy (D-Crow Agency), and Katie Sullivan (D-Missoula) plus Senators Jason Ellsworth (R-Hamilton), Nate McConnell (D-Missoula), Frank Smith (D-Poplar), and Gordon Vance (R-Belgrade).

The meeting will be streamed live at and will be broadcast over the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN).

Committee website:
Committee staff: Pat Murdo, 406-444-3594,


Number of views (645)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.