Districting and Apportionment Commission to Meet May 13 - news.mt.gov

State of Montana NewsRoom

Montana Government News


Districting and Apportionment Commission to Meet May 13

Friday, May 10, 2019/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:

The first four members of Montana's Districting and Apportionment Commission will meet at 3 p.m. on May 13 in room 137 of the state Capitol in Helena to discuss the selection of the commission's fifth member. Once selected, the fifth commissioner will serve as the presiding officer. The first four members recently solicited applications from interested individuals and will consider those individuals at the meeting.

If the commissioners are unable to select a fifth member, the Montana Supreme Court will make the decision. The fifth member must be a citizen who is not a public official.

The first four members were selected by legislative leaders in the Montana Senate and House and include:

  • Jeff Essmann, appointed by Senate Majority Leader Fred Thomas;
  • Joe Lamson, appointed by Senator Minority Leader Jon Sesso;
  • Dan Stusek, appointed by House Majority Leader Brad Tschida; and
  • Kendra Miller, appointed by House Minority Leader Casey Schreiner.

An agenda for the meeting is available at the commissioner's website.  The meeting is open to the public and will also be streamed live at leg.mt.gov.

If you would like to receive emailed updates about the commission’s future meetings, sign up at leg.mt.gov/lyris-list/

For more information on the commission, visit the commission's website or contact commission staff.

Commission website: leg.mt.gov/districting/2020-commission/

Commission staff:
Rachel Weiss, rweiss@mt.gov
Joe Kolman, jkolman@mt.gov



Number of views (897)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.