State of Montana NewsRoom

Welcome to the State of Montana NewsRoom


The Law and Justice Interim Committee meets June 28 in room 137 of the state Capitol. The meeting starts at 10 a.m. It is the first meeting of the committee for the 2017-2018 interim.

The Montana Legislature’s Environmental Quality Council will tour a watercraft inspection station at Canyon Ferry Reservoir on June 29 before returning to the Capitol to decide what policy issues the legislative committee will tackle over the next year.

The Legislative Services Division (LSD), under direction of the Montana Legislative Council, is pleased to announce a new collaboration with KUSM-TV/MontanaPBS of Bozeman for the operation of the Television Montana (TVMT) state government channel originating from Helena.

Thursday, June 8, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: TVMT

The Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee will hold its first meeting of the interim on June 12, 2017. The meeting will be in Room 152 of the State Capitol in Helena, starting at 9:30 a.m.

Tuesday, June 6, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Revenue & Transportation Interim Committee

The Economic Affairs Interim Committee (EAIC) will have its first meeting of the interim between legislative sessions on June 14, 2017. The meeting will be in Room 137 of the State Capitol in Helena, starting at 12:30 p.m.

Friday, June 2, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Economic Affairs Interim Committee

The Education Interim Committee will hold its initial meeting on Tuesday, June 13, 2017, in Room 137 of the State Capitol to chart its course for the interim. The meeting will begin at 9 a.m. The former Education and Local Government Interim Committee was divided into two interim committees by Senate Bill No. 151 during the 2017 Legislative session, so for the first time, a regular interim committee will be devoted solely to education.

Thursday, June 1, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: Education Interim Committee

Time is almost up! Nominations for the 2017 Excellence in Leadership Awards are due Wednesday, April 12, 2017. The ICCW (Interagency Committee for Change by Women) reminds you to nominate individuals who are making a difference in the lives of others, who recognize the value of women in the workplace and encourage women to move forward through their leadership.

Monday, April 3, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: ICCW

A nomination committee composed of House Speaker Austin Knudsen, Senate President Scott Sales, House Minority Leader Jenny Eck, and Senate Minority Leader Jon Sesso will select at least two and not more than five finalists. 

Wednesday, February 15, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:
Legislative Audit Committee to review the 2016 State of Montana financial audit. Additional reports for the February meeting will address the state’s pension systems and investments, Brucellosis Management in the State of Montana, and Oversight of Discretionary Pay Changes for State Employees.
Tuesday, February 14, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags:
Tuesday, February 7, 2017/Categories: Legislative Branch/Tags: